top of page

15 With OperaRanger

Instagram OperaRanger

Will Britt CosPlay as Wes Time Force Red


When did you get into Power Rangers?


I got into Power Rangers when they first came out in 1993. I was 3 at the time, so the perfect age to be drawn into bright colors, cool moves and giant dinosaurs lol. My mother STILL talks about how hooked I was.



 

Which season would you say is the best?


My favorite season is definitely Time Force. Time Force has a special place in my heart, mainly due to the red ranger, Wes. The similarities between myself and Wes are actually rather large, but our relationship with our fathers? The exact same. Also, it just touched on a lot of serious topics that you tend to appreciate when you get older. Jungle Fury is a close second for me.



 

You've been around to many conventions and sang Power Ranger Themes in Opera, What inspired you to do this?


Well, the Power Rangers are my heroes, and I want them to know how much they have inspired their fans. Thanks to what I have learned from the respective shows is what has created me. So when I sing for them, it's a way of saying thank you for being an amazing role model and I would like them to know what they did, did not go unnoticed. 




 

Is opera the main thing you sing or do you sing any other genres?


Hahaha contrary to what people think, I actually don't like opera that much. I sing it because it's obviously what my voice is, but I love singing with heavy metal lol



 

If you could sing to any ranger, who would you sing to?


Hhmmm...I've sung already for most of my rangers, but if I had to choose someone I hadn't sang for, then I would love to sing for Bede Skinner who portrayed Jarrod in Power Rangers Jungle Fury. Jarrod is one of my favorite "rangers" lol so I would love to show him my appreciation for what he did with the character.



 


Has music always been a passion and dream for you?


I can't do much without music. I've always sung, but it wasn't until my senior year of high school that I "found out" I could sing. I honestly don't care to sing for my livelihood though. If the only people who ever hear my singing are my future wife and children, I could die happy.



 

Who’s your favorite Ranger to cosplay as?


Wes, aka Time Force Red. My connection to that character is too much to NOT enjoy it lol



 

What song title would be your life’s song?


Probably Breaking the Habit by Linkin Park. Over the course of my life, I've developed in many different ways. Most good, some the exact opposite. Until you find a reason to change, you don't. It wasn't until recently that I decided to start breaking old habits of mine that keep me from moving forward. Also, Linkin Park is my favorite band. Hybrid Theory was actually the first music album I bought. RIP Chester.



 

Have you tried singing professionally and if so, what was your highlight?


I have, but let's just say entitlement from people ruined it for me so I lost the passion and haven't gotten it back lol



 


Being a man of faith, do you think it has flourished or hindered your aspirations for your career goals?


Depending on what you're asking, hurt and helped. I'm incredibly devout in my faith, but I'm trying to be better every day. Because of my faith, I sometimes get pigeonholed into certain musical genres, but that's not a bad thing. However, my faith has also helped because I know everything that happens is in the Lord's hands so whatever happens, I'll tell him thank you, and pray that he continues to lead me and guide me to what and whoever he has for me.



 

Do you think we could ever see a ranger of faith be introduced within the franchise?


I honestly don't know. With Power Rangers being a predominantly child's show, the producers are wise to avoid a lot of "real world" topics and issues. You can naturally address the questions of severe good and evil, but I don't think it would be smart from a marketing perspective to cater to that audience. That's why I tell people all the time to leave Power Rangers alone with all the politics. Regardless of your the side, you fall on, it's not a good avenue to "preach" your beliefs, pun intended lol



 

What do you think about the current state of the PR brand as a whole?


I actually think it's in a good state right now. Hasbro obviously WANTS to do big things with the brand, I think they just need a bit more time to figure out what it is they WANT to do.



 

Do you think a new film franchise could break the negative condensations attached to the IP, and if so, what do you think it needs to become a respectable one?


I don't think so. The problem with PR is that it IS campy. If you "break" the negative connotations of the brand, sadly, you break the brand. While we are on that note, PR is a "respectable" one, look at how many people love it. Hasbro took down BotCon, which is a HUGE Transformers convention that I one day wanted to get to attend, but Hasbro dismantled it. However, Hasbro has allowed Power Morphicon and RangerStop to continue and flourish because they see how loyal the following is. Does that sound like anything besides "respectable"?



 

Before you leave this world, what is the one mark you want to leave for the coming generations?


Honestly? The only thing I want is for my Lord and the family he will bless me with one day to be proud of me. I don't care to have a big name, that stuff is useless to me. I want my future wife and children to proud that I am theirs and no one else's. That's all...



 


Are you planning on releasing new music to accompany your song wings?

PS. Available on all digital platforms. 


Hahaha hopefully soon

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page